Home sweet home

I’m writing this from a nice, non-moving chair in my living room with a fire in the fireplace.  I surprised myself with how many miles I do in one day and so made it home from Sandy, Utah (966 miles) in 2 days.  Yesterday was 531 miles and today 435.  The bike continues to amaze me and put in another bravura performance today, handling heavy rain and fog in the morning, warm and dry roads across central Washington, then heading over Blewitt and Stevens passes, dealing with rush hour traffic in Everett, and easing me into my driveway.  It’s now sitting in the garage, dry and warm.

The final mileage tally is 3,887 per the odometer, more like 3,576 miles corrected.  I was on the road 19 days and on 6 of those days I did very little riding, so 3,576 miles divided by 13 days = 275 miles per day on average.  Not too shabby for someone who’d never ridden more than 250 miles in one day and never done an overnight ride, let along a 3 week one.

For now it’s time to warm up, relax, and not go ANYWHERE!  I’ll have a few more blog entries in the next few days, so keep watching.

One final thought: follow your dreams, you never know where they might lead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Home sweet home

  1. Jeanne Visminas says:

    Welcome home Tom. It sure was a trip and a half! I have really enjoyed the pictures and the commentary. In fact, it inspired me to go to the library today and check out a Tony Hillerman book to read! I have seen two DVD’s of his stories, but since I live in Navajo County, AZ, I should really get into these mysteries. In fact, the famous artist “Yellowhair” lives in the neighborhood just below me!!! I often see Code Talkers at the gas station (yes, Cas talks with them (of course not in code) while they fill up the tanks!) I cannot stress any more how much culture (and how many) there are here in the N/E of AZ. New Mexico has even more. Great trip Tom. Stay dry! Ha Ha

  2. Grover Emrich says:

    Dear Tom:

    Now you see why I like to travel – it was not to get away from the family but to “experience” the country and the people. It is always good to get home, put up your feet, and I could look at Blue Mountain. Great travel log and I am sure you will soon forget the wind, snow, rain, hail, etc. and remember the good days and experiences. The weather certainly changes out there from frying to freezing.

    You should find the X-mas pictures in the mail somewhere. Relax and mellow out or what ever you young bikers say.

    Love,

    Dad

  3. Charlie Emrich says:

    I have to admit that I followed the first couple days of this, got super busy writing a grant, and then just checked in now, hoping that you were still on the road. I guess I’m a bit late, but damn, what a trip. I love the google maps on each stretch and the pictures are great. That bike must just slice through the wind to pull 500 mile days. Epic.

  4. Randy Lampman says:

    sounds like you had a good trip. I guess I am getting old, but I dont care if I ever do another 500 mile day. Let me know when you want to take a day ride.

    By the way, Where did you move to ?

  5. Tom,
    This is a very entertaining travelogue. The trip is over, but the story still remains. What’s next? I can’t wait to have a moment to read more.

Leave a Reply

