Chewing up the miles and spitting them out

I’m going to make this a short one because I’m totally knackered.  I started in Sandy, Utah this morning in a light drizzle, rode through rush hour on I-15, about an hour later the rain had stopped and I was out of all the traffic.  A gentle left got me on I-84 and into Idaho.

Then all hell broke loose, as in a torrential thunderstorm.  Black skies, lightening, hail, and drenching rain for 10 minutes.  I was going about 40 mph with my flashers on, riding the hump in the middle of the lane to stay out of the worst of the water, and the bike went through it like nothing was there.  I was impressed.  My rain suit also kept me completely dry and all my bags stayed dry as well, so all was good.

After the storm the sun came out and I turned up the wick, averaging about 80mph for quite a while.  Where my bike was getting 50+ mpg over the past 2 weeks, at these speeds it went down to the high 30’s, so after two quick tanks of gas I slowed down a bit to get better mileage.

Eventually the skies turned dark again and I could see rain all around me so I ducked into the first gas station to fill up the bike and myself and waited for the storm to pass.

Again the sun came out and by the time I got into Oregon I was cooking, so it was time to get out of the rain suit.  Ahhh, sweet relief.

My plan had been to stop in Boise but I was making great time and felt fine, so I played it by ear.  I checked by GPS for motels up the road and chose a town with a good selection and when I got there I reassessed how I was feeling and if it was raining.  I did this all the way to Baker City, OR, but once I got on the road I realized I was more tired than I thought.  The next town was La Grande so here I sit in the Super 8 Motel.

If anyone’s counting, that’s 521 miles today, in about 9 hours including stops.  And, boy, are my arms tired.  No, really, they are.

Tomorrow won’t be so nice, there’s a huge front coming in off the ocean tonight and tomorrow and it’s going to rain everywhere.  I’m going to stay on the east side of the Cascades to reduce the amount of rain I ride through, but the forecast is 100% rain everywhere so I can’t avoid it.  My goal is Wenatchee, WA, 248 miles away.  From there it will be a nice ride over the North Cascades Hwy. on Thursday and home.  It will feel so good to be home and not have to go anywhere.  Except work so I can pay for this trip!!

Good night Mrs. Calabash wherever you are

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

